Fábulas características

Appleby Catalogue W number: 

Fábulas características

  1. O cuco e o gato
  2. A araponga e o irerê
  3. O gato e o rato 

Unfortunately, the first two movements of this piano suite are lost.  It's especially unfortunate that the second piece is gone, since it would be interesting to hear Villa's first take on the araponga, a bird whose distinctive call is prominent in Bachianas Brasileiras #4.

Still, we have "O gato e o rato " to listen to and play today.

Year Composed: 
Piano Works

Solo piano


The suite, originally given the opus # 60, was premiered at the Saão Nobre in Rio, with pianist Rubens Figueiredo, on February 3, 1917.