Sonate-fantaisie no. 1 for violin and piano

Appleby Catalogue W number: 

Sonate-fantaisie no. 1 for violin and piano, Désespérance, Despair

Thesis: De Mattos, Alysio. 1993. The sonatas for violin and piano of Heitor Villa-Lobos. Thesis (Mus. D.)--Florida State University, 1993.

See this video of the Doppio Ensemble playing the first movement of the first Violin Sonate-fantaisie.

Year Composed: 
Chamber Music

Violin & Piano


Villa-Lobos, H. 1929. Première sonate-fantaisie: désespérance : pour piano et violon. Paris: Eschig.  This score may be available on Interlibrary Loan from your local public library.


There are ten records in the Villa-Lobos Concerts database (June 2009).