Cello Concerto #2

Appleby Catalogue W number: 

Concerto for cello and orchestra #2 = Concerto para Violoncello e Orquestra (No. 2)

  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Molto andante cantabile
  3. Scherzo (Vivace) - Cadenza
  4. Allegro energico

Commissioned by the Brazilian cellist Aldo Parisot.

Thesis: Aquino, Felipe Avellar de. 2000. Villa-Lobos's Cello concerto no. 2 a portrait of Brazil. Thesis (D.M.A.)--University of Rochester, 2000. 

Aquino's excellent dissertation is available in full-text from URochester's digital repository (PDF format).


Cellist and Parisot student Claudio Jaffe plays the Cadenza.

Year Composed: 

Cello & orchestra


Villa-Lobos, Heitor. 1982. Concerto no 2 pour violoncelle et orchestre. Paris: M. Eschig.

The autograph scores (78 pp. & 45 pp.) are in the Museu Villa-Lobos.


Aldo Parisot premiered the work with the New York Philharmonic (Walter Hendl conducting) on Feburary 5, 1955.

There are five records in the Villa-Lobos Concerts database as of September 2011.