Ciranda das Sete Notas with the Sage City Symphony

02/12/2012 - 16:00
USA: Bennington VT
Work Performed: 
Ciranda das Sete Notas

Chamber Concert on February 12 at 4pm

Sage City's first winter concert features the Concerto for Bassoon and String Orchestra by H. Villa-Lobos, with soloist Jerry Lanoue, Beethoven's Symphony No 2 Opus 36 in D Major and a full performance of Opus 3 no. 2 Concerto Grosso by Handel. The concert is in Greenwall Auditorium in the VAPA building on the Bennington College campus. The venue is handicapped accessible and admission is free.

Heitor Villa-Lobos, a Brazilian composer who passed away in 1959, is commonly regarded as the most significant composer to emerge from Latin America.

Beethoven's Symphony No. 2 is perhaps his most poignant. It was composed when he was coming to terms with the likelihood that his hearing loss was incurable. Despite this dark shadow, the symphony includes great humor and brightness along with the strong emotion typical of Beethoven's works.

Handel's Concerto Grosso actually has a string quartet as its solo voice, with the principals of each of the string sections playing a solo and the remainder playing accompaniment.

This concert is sponsored by the members of the Board of Sage City Symphony.