Symphony #04

Appleby Catalogue W number: 

Written in 1919, the work's subtitle is A Vitória, The Victory.

  1. Allegro impectuoso
  2. Andantino
  3. Andante
  4. Lento - allegro
Year Composed: 
Orchestral Works

This is a huge work, with a full orchestra (including lots of Brazilian percussion instruments), a "fanfarra" of brass instruments, and a "conjunto interno".

orquestra: 2pic, 2fl, 2ob, c ing, 2cl(Bb), 2cl(A), cl baixo, sax tenor, sax barít, 2fg, cfg, 4cor, 4trp(Bb), 4trp(A), 4 trb, tuba, tímp, tam-tam, pratos, bombo, tambor, caixa clara, sinos, sistro, pandeiro, guizos, chocalho, triângulo, xil, cel, pf, 2hp e cordas

fanfarra: req, sax sop, sax alto, sax barít, cornetas, bug, saxhornes(Eb), trb, baixos e contrabaixo(Eb)

conjunto interno: req, sax sop, sax alto, sax tenor, sax barít, pandeiro, triângulo, pratos e bombo


The autograph score (147 pp. & 176 pp.) is in the Museu Villa-Lobos.

Villa-Lobos, Heitor. 1978. IV. symphony, 1919 La vitoria. Melville, N.Y.: Belwin-Mills Pub. Corp. 


The premiere of the first movement was in September 1920 at the Teatro Municipal in Rio de Janeiro.  This was part of a concert given to honour the King of Belgium.

The whole work wasn't heard until 06/06/55 in Paris, at the Théâtre des Champs Elysées.

There are only a few performances of the Symphonies in the Villa-Lobos Concerts database.